Skip links

Tax Payments

Real Estate Tax Payment Options

There are several options for property owners in Monroe County to pay their real estate taxes. Please note that in order to avoid interest penalties each installment must be paid by its particular due date according to the laws of the State of Illinois. The payment process is explained on the back side of your tax bill, however, if you have additional questions please feel free to contact the Monroe County Treasurer’s Office at 618-939-8681, ext. 213. Check should be made payable to “MONROE COUNTY COLLECTOR”.

In-Person Payments

In-person payments may be made at the Monroe County Treasurer’s Office Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. Cash, money orders, personal and cashier’s checks are accepted. The Treasurer’s Office is located across from the Information Desk on the main floor of the Monroe County Courthouse.

USPS Mail Payments

Payments may be mailed through the United States Postal Service and must be postmarked no later than the installment due date in order to avoid interest penalties. For your convenience, the Monroe County Treasurer’s Office encloses return envelopes for each installment with your tax bill. Payments in the form of check or money order should be made payable to the Monroe County Collector and sent along with your payment stub to the following address:

Kevin W. Koenigstein  •  Monroe County Treasurer/Collector  •  Monroe County Court House  •  100 S. Main Street  •  Waterloo, IL 62298

Credit Card Payments

Payments may be made via the internet using Master Card, Visa, Visa Debit Card, American Express or Discover Card through the Illinois E-Pay website. A convenience fee will be applied to each transaction based upon the amount you are paying.

Direct Debit

Payments will automatically be deducted from *your bank account on the date* that the installment is due. If you are interested in Direct Debit, please fill out the Direct Debit Form and return it to the Treasurer’s Office along with a voided check from the bank account you wish to use for real estate tax payment. Please call the Monroe County Treasurer’s Office at 618-939-8681, ext 213, for more information.

Online Payments

Payments directly from your bank account may be made online through the Illinois E-Pay website. A convenience fee of $1.40 per transaction will apply. Payments will be accepted from the time real estate bills are mailed through the last installment date. Please visit the E-Pay online or call the Monroe County Treasurer/Collector’s office at 618-939-8681, ext 213, for more information.


Drop Box Payments

For your convenience, a drop box has been installed on the Market Street side of the Monroe County Courthouse. It is located in the landscaped island facing the east side of the Courthouse and is checked by an employee of the Treasurer’s Office every morning for payments. If you use the drop box, please enclose your payment in an envelope marked “Treasurer’s Office” and include your payment stub with your check or money order. If you do not have your payment stub, please include the address of the property or the parcel number of the property for which you are paying taxes.


Other Payment Locations

Many banks located in Monroe and Randolph Counties accept tax payments on or before the specified installment’s due date. Following is a list of participating banks:

Associated Bank Columbia
First Bank Columbia, & Waterloo
Central Bank Columbia
First National Bank of Waterloo Columbia & Waterloo
Midlands State Bank Columbia & Waterloo
Regions Bank Columbia
Reliance Bank Columbia
State Bank of Waterloo Valmeyer & Waterloo
Commerce Bank Columbia
Columbia National Bank Columbia


Dieterich Bank Red Bud
Buena Vista Red Bud & Prarie du Rocher
First Bank Red Bud
North County Savings Red Bud

Contact Treasurer's Office

Kevin Koenigstein, Monroe County

100 S. Main St., Waterloo, IL 62298
Tel: 618-939-8681 ext. 213, Fax: 618-939-8704,
Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.